4-H Livestock Judges Compete in Area Contest Back »

Forty-one 4-H members from 11 South Dakota counties including Brookings, Clark, Clay, Hanson, Kingsbury, Lake, Lincoln, Miner, McCook, Turner, and Yankton Counties participated at the annual Area Livestock Judging Contest held June 29 at the 4-H Grounds in Howard. 4-Hers evaluated livestock classes of market steers, commercial heifers, market lambs, meat goats, breeding gilts and market hogs. Participants not only visually placed the classes of four individuals, they answered questions relative to the species. Senior 4-H division members presented two sets of oral reasons and the Jr. contestants presented one set. Beginner members completed a written test.

In the senior division, Miner County’s Carter Calmus was the first place winner followed by Karley Litterick, also of Miner County. Travis Leber of Turner County, placed third.

The Junior division used an oral reasons score to break a tie for first place. Placing first was Cutler Michalski of Clark County followed very closely by Sami Nordmann in 2nd place. Ben Connor of Miner County earned the 3rd place spot in the junior division.

Miner County dominated the Beginner judging division, earning placings in 1st, 2nd and 3rd. These 4-Hers competed against 14 beginner judgers (aged 8-10 years old). A tie-breaker was also used to determine the 1st place winner as Katlin Schlim edged out Tanner Calmus for the top spot. 3rd place winner in the beginner division was earned by Kate Connor.

This year’s State Livestock Judging Contest which previously was held the last weekend in July, will be held Saturday, September 19 at the Animal Science Arena in Brookings on the campus of SDSU. Each South Dakota County is eligible to send one 4-person team in each division of Senior, Junior and Beginner as well as members who wish to judge as individuals. At the county level, 4-Hers are required to participate in at least 2 judging schools either here in Miner County or in other participating counties to earn a place on a team. Top scores from those events are calculated to determine teams.

Miner County 4-H Livestock Judging members wish to thank the local county Judging Committee of Jim Krantz, Mike Connor, Dick Wettlaufer, Barry Callies, Ray Genzlinger and Robert Peterson for their help in bringing in judging classes, officiating the class placings and judging oral reasons. Others bringing classes for 4-Hers to evaluate this past 4-H year included Robert Peterson, Ray Genzlinger, Mike Connor, John Laible, John & Rhona Albrecht, Daron Klinkhammer and Daryl Gerdes. Other thanks to Holly Litterick, Vicki Vining, Becky Connor and Miranda Donahue for their assistance in meal preparation and tabulations for the county 4-H livestock judging events.

Left to Right: Top points in the Beginner division were awarded to all Miner County 4H-ers including Katlin Schlim 1st place, Tanner Calmus 2nd place, and Kate Connor 3rd place.

Left to Right: Cutler Michalski of Clark County 1st place, Sami Nordmann of Turner County in 2nd place, and Miner County's Ben Connor who received 3rd place in the Jr. judging division.

Left to Right: Senior Division Winners included Carter Calmus and Karley Litterick of Miner County, and Travis Leber of Turner County.

blog comments powered by Disqus

Sign Up For Email!